Pasta alla Puttanesca

Tonight my girlfriend Maeve asked for my recipe for Puttanesca and I told her it was here on my blog. I quickly pulled out the phone, pulled up my wordpress icon and found that I hadn’ t posted a thing since Thanksgiving time -not since my Grandmother had gotten ill.

My Grammy has since passed away and she was one of the greatest influences of my cooking. My mother’s mother, the matriarch of the family, worked most of her life to raise four children and at times to help raise many of her grandchildren.

So many memories of her standing in the kitchen whipping up a breakfast from leftovers from the night’s before dinner. She had a knack for making breakfast burritos out of scrambled eggs, potatos, sausage or bacon. Bisquits and gravy was my favorite breakfast and a tradition in my maternal family whenever celebrating someone’s birthday or a special holiday. In my younger years, following Sunday School my mom would treat us to it or she’d take us to Grammy’s for Sunday brunch.

Pasta alla Puttanesca

Pasta alla Puttanesca

 

But alas, this is not what this post is about!

This post is about making my Puttanesca recipe available to Maeve so here it is beautiful woman!

Pasta Alla Puttanesca
Ingredients
• 1 pound linguine
• 1 (2-ounce) can anchovies, drained, oil reserved, chopped or 1 Tbs. anchovy paste
• 6 garlic cloves, chopped
• 1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes with added puree
• 1 pound shrimp, peeled
• 1 cup pitted kalamata olives, halved
• 1/4 cup capers, drained
• 1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
• 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves, for garnish
• Salt and freshly ground black pepper
Directions
In a large pot, cook pasta in boiling salted water until tender but still firm to bite, stirring occasionally with a spoon. Drain and set aside. In a large skillet, heat the reserved oil from anchovies over medium-high heat. Add chopped anchovies; saute until aroma is released. Add garlic and saute 1 minute. Add tomatoes, shrimp, olives, capers, and dried crushed red pepper. Simmer over medium heat until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. To the skillet add drained pasta and toss in anchovy mixture to coat, garnish with parsley. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

In honor of my friend Maeve and in loving memory of my Grandmother Leona Mae Berg-Strickland!

 

My Grandmother, Leona Mae Berg-Strickland

My Grandmother, Leona Mae Berg-Strickland

2 thoughts on “Pasta alla Puttanesca

Leave a Reply

